skip to content

Department of Zoology


The Department is delighted to offer its congratulations to Professor Michael Akam who has been awarded the Linnean Medal for Zoology.

Professor David Cutler, President of the Linnean Society of London, said: “The Anniversary Meeting is a very special occasion in the calendar of the Linnean Society of London as it provides an opportunity for the Society to acknowledge the seminal contribution of individuals to their chosen fields within the biological sciences.  Their work directly advances the core mission of the Society, as outlined in our Charter – the cultivation of the Science of Natural History in all its branches.” 

A previous winner of the Linnean Medal was Alfred Newton in 1900. 

Further information can be found on the Linnean Society's website: